ROSCOE VACANT: “NO ATTACK/NO DECAY” 9-track mini-album (handmade CD and download, 2013)NO ATTACK1

This was a 9-track solo acoustic punk mini-album recorded in the summer of 2013 and featuring no overdubs, only vocals and acoustic guitar.   It was released as a limited edition of 50 handmade copies on Topplers Records, and was recorded with Boab (Punk Rock Rammy) in Cambuslang.

The CDs have long since sold out, but you can still stream and download the album for £2 at

You can also listen to the album in the player below.


Roscoe Vacant & the Gantin' Screichs "Reckurdt" CD coverROSCOE VACANT & THE GANTIN’ SCREICHS: “RECKURDT” 12-track album (CD and download, 2011)

Our 12-track album “Reckurdt” is now once again available to buy online!

You can buy a physical copy of the album from the Roscoe Vacant Bandcamp site at , featuring exclusive artwork by the photographer Gareth Dawid.

The CD is available for £4 + p&p, and has been professionally manufactured to the highest standard and includes a full colour four-page booklet with lyrics, pictures and more.

The full album is now available for streaming in the player below, or alternatively at , where physical and digital copies are also available for purchase.  You can buy the album direct from us HERE, for £4 + p&p.


ROSCOE VACANT & THE NO-MEN / STEVE TREATMENT split (cassette/download 2013)

Limited edition cassette - Roscoe Vacant/Steve Treatment split featuring The NoMen on Topplers RecordsIn early 2012, myself and long-time Steve Treatment collaborators The NoMen began discussing the possibility of recording some covers of songs by the DIY punk legend.  I began pulling together some very basic arrangements of a few songs I particularly liked from his extensive catalogue of unreleased and limited release material.  In September 2012 myself and the NoMen finally got together to record 3 covers.  The NoMen added a gallon of madness to my arrangements, and Steve Treatment himself contributed 4 new songs and guest vocals on our version of “New Youth Society Generator” via dictaphone.  The tape is available to buy HERE or via the player below.


ROSCOE VACANT & THE GANTIN’ SCREICHS: “I have not led a blameless life” EP (limited edition, 2012 – NOT AVAILABLE)

A limited edition 4-track single was previously available for purchase through Newtown Products.

Once again, the release featured exclusive artwork by Gareth Dawid, however for the first time this release was presented in handmade packaging by minim.  Physical CDs were limited to 25 copies, and are unfortunately no longer available.

ROSCOE VACANT & THE GANTIN’ SCREICHS: “MOGUR [live & perjurious]” EP (download-only, 2010)

You can also still download our free and rough as a badger’s hindend acoustic EP, “MOGUR [live & perjurious]” recorded live on 14th December 2010.

Roscoe Vacant & the Gantin' Screichs "MOGUR [live & perjurious]" cover

1. Shortbread Tins and Tartan Hats mp3
2. Not Repented mp3
3. Misery Loves Company mp3
4. All in the Reel of the Summer mp3
5. Dehydration Blues mp3
6. Static Voices Trace the Dark mp3

OR DOWNLOAD ALL TRACKS and cover art in a single file HERE!

Artwork by Gareth Dawid.

ROSCOE VACANT: “Nothing’s going to change”/”Escape from Doom Valley” EPs (CD/download, 2009)

“Nothing’s Going To Change” is a 6-track acoustic punk EP, recorded between March and June 2009, while the last 4 tracks are from the “Escape from Doom Valley” live EP, recorded during a 2008 radio session.

1. Eve of War
2. Four More Years
3. Nothing’s Going to Change
4. Barley Bree (Trad.,
Robert Burns/Allan Masterton)
5. Misery Loves Company
6. All in the Reel of the Summer
7. Eve of War (live)
8. Tight Knot of October (live)
9. Pins & Needles (live)
10. Today is not the day (live)


DAVE HUGHES/ROSCOE VACANT: split LP (CD/download 2009)

This LP was recorded and put together just prior to myself and Dave’s March 2009 tour, and features 6 tracks each.  Dave Hughes’ side features Moritz Beahm on violin, while my side features 1978 Scottish punk legends The Zips and alt.blues master Dave Arcari.

Please feel free to share, stick on mixes, whatever. Click HERE for free download.

Dave Hughes/Roscoe Vacant Split LP

1. The sinner and the saints (DAVE HUGHES feat. Moritz Beahm)
2. Love and hate (DAVE HUGHES)
3. Malaga airport (DAVE HUGHES)
5. Evermore (DAVE HUGHES)
6. On our own (DAVE HUGHES)
7. Misery Loves Company (ROSCOE VACANT feat. THE ZIPS)
8. Indian Summer (ROSCOE VACANT feat. THE ZIPS)
9. Talk of the Town (ROSCOE VACANT w/ Thomas on Sax)
10. Incognito Chinese Blues (ROSCOE VACANT feat. DAVE ARCARI)
11. Non-denominational (ROSCOE VACANT feat THE ZIPS)
12. Help save the youth of Cumnock and Doon Valley (ROSCOE VACANT w. DAVID BURNS)

Cover artwork by humanitarian photojournalist Phil Behan, used with kind permission.

ROSCOE VACANT & THE KAMIKAZES: “alt. e.p.” (CD, 2008)

This 5 track EP was recorded in 2008 as Roscoe VacanALT EPt & the Kamikazes. At this point I’d started experimenting with pianos, drum machines and full-band arrangements of a number of songs that would go on to be recorded by Roscoe Vacant and the Gantin’ Screichs on the “Reckurdt” (2011) and “The Wrong Shall Fail” (2015) albums.  None of the material on this EP has been released elsewhere, although a version of “Talk of the Town” using a different vocal take is on the split LP with Dave Hughes (2009).  FREE ZIP DOWNLOAD HERE.


1.  Broken Record Boy (alt. e.p. version)
2.  Torch (alt. e.p. version)
3.  Pins & Needles (alt. e.p. version)
4.  Talk of the Town (alternate vocal take)
5.  Not My Fight (unreleased)

roscoe vacant : vox.gtr.keys. / steven harrison : bass / david burns : gtr / doktor xyklone : drums.  all tracks written by roscoe vacant.  arr. vacant/harrison/burns.  alt. e.p. produced by david burns.  saxophone on ‘talk of the town’ : thomas.  original cover art by jim mackellar.

ROSCOE VACANT: “Necessity Revisited” (CD, 2007)

Roscoe Vacant - Necessity Revisited

This CD was my first collection of home recordings, and was available at all of my gigs for the princely sum of £1.  The songs on this CD were recorded between August 2006 and April 2007 and vary from outsider piano pop (“Formaldehyde”) to electro punk (“Eve of War”) and folk punk (“Non-Denominational”) by way of noise experiments (“Here Come the Cold Gnarls”).


1. Non-Denominational
2. Pins & Needles
3. Formaldehyde
4. Necessity Revisited
5. Fire on 45
6. The Tight Knot of October
7. Burnin’ Summers Lovers (Salt Cellar cover)
8. Leningrad
9. Eve of War
10. Here come the cold gnarls
11. Help Save the Youth of Cumnock and Doon Valley

2, 5, 6, 7 and 9 feature Steven Harrison on bass, Ronnie Hogg on guitar.

YARA: “The Abandon E.P.” (2003, cassette)YARA

This EP was recorded between 2002 and 2003 on a 4-track recorder in Cumnock, Ayrshire under the name YARA.  Tapes were distributed at early piano-based solo gigs and among friends locally.

1. Narrative of Decay
2. Positive/Negative
3. Twenty of Age
4. A Thousand Chances (S.E.L.)

All tracks written and performed by Roscoe Vacant.  Track 3 features Steven Harrison on bass and David Samson on guitar/vocals.



3 Responses to Music

  1. Pingback: “Reckurdt” CD released today! | ROSCOE VACANT & THE GANTIN' SCREICHS

  2. murdo says:

    Rock. Roll. Art. Fucking marvellous.

  3. Pingback: “I have not led a blameless life” ltd. edition CD EP released today | ROSCOE VACANT & THE GANTIN' SCREICHS

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s